Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

1996 960 Station Wagon 1 year 3 weeks ago #4194

• Jswammy
  • Thank you received: 0
I was recently gifted a 1996 960 station wagon that has been sitting unused for 2 years, and I'm looking for any advice on what to look out for.
The alternator caught on fire after a quick initial test start, so I'm sourcing one from rockauto.
I'm COMPLETELY new to cars and cutting my teeth on this one, so any and all advice would be very appreciated, particularly in the "you'd usually do this to a car in disrepair but DONT do it to Volvo" category (I saw someone talking about foregoing fuel additives in another thread, does that include seafoam/heet?).
It's in a sad state, needs a complete cosmetic overhaul. Mechanically it looks like a pandoras box. Great learning experience though!
I had a Volvo for a first car and have had several since, and am looking forward to learning.
My dad has not one but TWO red 1994 850s sitting in equal disrepair that I'm welcome to lay hands on if can aquire the know-how.
Joining this club may have been unusually premature, but I've always learned best by making sure i was the dumbest person in the room.
Thanks in advance for any help!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1996 960 Station Wagon 1 year 3 weeks ago #4195

• gdill3
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Thank you received: 136

I was recently gifted a 1996 960 station wagon that has been sitting unused for 2 years, and I'm looking for any advice on what to look out for.
The alternator caught on fire after a quick initial test start, so I'm sourcing one from rockauto.
I'm COMPLETELY new to cars and cutting my teeth on this one, so any and all advice would be very appreciated, particularly in the "you'd usually do this to a car in disrepair but DONT do it to Volvo" category (I saw someone talking about foregoing fuel additives in another thread, does that include seafoam/heet?).